Tags

, , , ,

We live in a microwave era where we want everything quick, fast and in a hurry. But I am a firm believer that anything worth having is worth working for. If you make the right connections, you can possibly lessen some of the work you have to do, but even then, making the right connections can take some work.

Working towards your goals won’t always be easy. There will be obstacles, setbacks, and of course, sacrifices. The reason some people (myself included) won’t reach their goals is because we fear sacrifices.  And that isn’t necessarily a flaw; if you are accustomed to doing something, giving it up will not be easy. BUT, it’s hard to convince anyone, especially yourself, that your goals are important if you are not putting in the work and making necessary sacrifices.

There are a lot of people that are making things happen but I want to highlight two people I see working hard on their goals:

First, my cousin Chelsey Watts who has aspirations to become a lawyer. After graduating from Georgia State, Chelsey began the next phase of her life and enrolled at the Thurgood Marshall School of Law in Houston Texas. She graduated with her Juris Doctor degree this past May and I couldn’t be more proud of her! Now, for the past few months, Chelsey has been studying for the BAR exam and she’s been pretty low key while doing so.

Chelsey.png

Chelsey has sacrificed hanging out, social media, enjoying the simple pleasure of watching TV and doing whatever else a 27 year old could be doing right now. Not only did Chelsey leave her friends and family to move to Texas for Law School, she has also given up life as she knew it to study for the BAR. What she is sacrificing will definitely be worth her reward of passing the BAR. I can’t even imagine the stress and anxiety she must be feeling right now but she’s definitely an inspiration to me…she is proof that Law degrees and passing the BAR won’t come easy. Once this test is passed (claiming it!) she will know every sacrifice was well worth it.

My inspiration is Ayada Ingram. I know Ayada through working with my sister and my son and her niece are friends (they went on a date!). With her health becoming an issue, Ayada began her weight loss journey.  At her biggest, she was 270 pounds and she was pretty unhappy with herself. Her weight caused major health and self-esteem issues for her.

Ayada said the hardest part was the will power to diet and eat right. When she was heavier, exercising was harder but now, Ayada works out religiously 5-6 times a week. She sacrifices her time, working out when she’s tired, and eating right when she had didn’t want to. But her sacrifices have produced phenomenal results: over the course of a few years, Ayada went from a size 26 to a size 10/12! Can you say AMAZING!

The pride of taking charge of her life, health and weight shows in her smile. Ayada told me that she is much happier now that she was before….and the results are absolutely priceless!

Ayada

 

So my question to you is what are you willing to give up to get to where you want to be? What goals do you have? Maybe it isn’t passing the BAR or losing weight but what are you doing to take your goals from vision to action?

Talking alone isn’t enough. You can’t just say you want to lose weight and continue eating whatever you want. You can’t just say you want to be a lawyer without putting in hours of studying. If I say I want to publish a book, that means I have to dedicate time to write. If you say you want to go back to school, that means you have to carve out time to study. Talking about it without doing anything  won’t get you anywhere.

My last post highlighted my love for writing and my plans for it. And I haven’t been sacrificing enough for it. I can admit I wanted it microwaved and I made excuses as to why I couldn’t focus on it like I needed to. I have kids. I’m in school. I work. I try to have a social life. But at the end of the day, saying I want to be an author will remain a dream until I start to work for it.

Chelsey and Ayada have shown me the rewards sacrifice can bring…so now it’s up to me to push myself further.  If I have to give up watching Food network on Friday night to write, then so be it. If I have to wake up an hour earlier to write, then so be it. If I have to turn down hanging out to write, then so be it.

I have published a book of poetry but for the most part, that didn’t take a lot of sacrifice; most of my poems for that book were done by the time I decided to publish. I’ve been asked about book two and I always have the same excuse: I haven’t had the time. And the truth of the matter is I haven’t made the time. Excuses are out the window, procrastination is being evicted and now, I’m ready to hit the ground running!

