It never ceases to amaze me where I find inspiration.

I went to a management/leadership training for my job about a year ago. I was oh so excited about it said Jennifer sarcastically. The only thing I was looking forward to was a few days away from home and spending some quiet time with myself.

The training turned out to be much more than I expected. I walked away with a lot great nuggets of inspiration to use at work and in my every day life as well. This was one of the best quotes I took away from the training:

You can choose to focus on the negative or the positive. But the one you choose to feed is the one that will get bigger

Listen. This spoke volumes to me. I have this on my bookcase at work as a constant reminder of my choice. Yes, bad things will happen…this is life.  But I have a choice not to dwell on the negative.  I’m not denying that something undesirable happened, but rather, I’m making the choice not to wallow in what happened.

I’m a silver lining kind of girl. I will try my best to find something positive in every situation. I make the choice to make sure my positive mind is well nourished. Fed multiple times a day. Given the best of the best. Daily I want to pour so much into  my life that its bursting at the seams with positivity-with some to spare.  That’s the side of me I want to grow, to get bigger, to have the greatest influence over my actions. I want the positive thoughts in my mind to greatly outweigh anything negative. Something that was designed to break my spirit can become something that makes me soar. It’s all in how I choose to use it in my life.

I have a thankful/blessings jar. When good things happen, I jot it on a piece of paper and put it in my jar. This helps me to see the good things around me, no matter how small. I haven’t done this everyday, but I’m going to commit to writing down at least one positive part of my day.

My encouragement for whoever is reading this is to make a conscious effort to choose the positive. Have you met people that always have something negative to say? No matter what is going on, they always have to point out what’s wrong? Don’t be that person.  Find the best in everything around you.

Let me hear from you…how can you be more positive?

Jenn

